PDA

View Full Version : Negating "Even after this card leaves the field" effects



SynjoDeonecros
18th June 2016, 05:11 PM
So, say I have a continuous spell or trap on the field with an effect that says it applies to the monster(s) "even after this card leaves the field", and the opponent negates, but does not get rid of, that card. Would that effect still apply or no?

(For instance, I activate Tenken, and then, later that same Main Phase 1, my opponent activates Trap Stun. Will that negate the effect that negates the effects of a targeted Beast-Warrior and renders it immune to all other card effects, that phase?)

Pendulum
18th June 2016, 06:04 PM
It would be great if you could have linked to "Tenken (http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Fire_Formation_-_Tenken)" and "Trap Stun (http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Trap_Stun)".

The part of "Tenken" that negates the monster's effects and makes it unaffected by other effects is not a Continuous effect. So the effect is applied, like if "Tenken" was a Normal Trap Card. So if later "Trap Stun" is used, regardless of if "Tenken" is still face-up, the targeted monster will still have its effects negated.
The "(This applies even if this card leaves the field.)" part is there because it's a Continuous Trap Card and this effect is meant to work like if it wasn't a Continuous Card.

SynjoDeonecros
18th June 2016, 06:11 PM
I see, okay, thanks.