PDA

View Full Version : Every Ruling Resource Ever



bilaterus
26th June 2016, 12:15 PM
Hello all! I believe it would be remiss of us to not have a collection of ruling resources in the section.*

These resources should be linked in threads when relevant, to enable users to read further into the mechanics about which they are actually asking. Teach a man to fish, etc.

*Alright, not EVERY resource ever is on this page, but if you know everything on this list, you're doing pretty well.

The Demystifying Rulings Series
Part 0: The Rulebook, and Motivation for Learning Rulings (http://ygorganization.com/learnrulingspart0)
Part 1: Introduction to PSCT; Costs and Chains (http://ygorganization.com/learnrulingspart1)
Part 2: Targeting (http://ygorganization.com/learnrulingspart2)
Part 3: SEGOC (http://ygorganization.com/learnrulingspart3)
Part 4: 'When' Optional Effects (i.e. 'Missing the Timing') (http://ygorganization.com/learnrulingspart4)
Part 5: Summons (http://ygorganization.com/learnrulingspart5)
Part 6: Timing and Causation (http://ygorganization.com/learnrulingspart6)
Part 7: Fast Effect Timing (http://ygorganization.com/learnrulingspart7)
Part 8: The Battle Phase (http://ygorganization.com/learnrulingspart8)
Part 9: The Damage Step (http://ygorganization.com/learnrulingspart9)
Part 10: Negation (http://ygorganization.com/learnrulingspart10)
Part 11: Move Legality (http://ygorganization.com/learnrulingspart11)
Part 12: The Game State, Verifications, and ATK Modifiers (http://ygorganization.com/learnrulingspart12)
Part 13: Normal Summons, Forgetting, and the Highlander Clause (http://ygorganization.com/learnrulingspart13)


Miscellaneous Rulings
Prohibition and Psi-Blocker (https://ygorganization.com/prohibition/)

Necrovalley (https://ygorganization.com/how-stuff-works-necrovalley/)

Mystical Refpanel (http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=866260)

Location Matters (e.g. MST vs CotH vs Deneb) (https://ygorganization.com/advanced-rulings-location-matters/)

Advanced ATK Modifiers (http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=1223358)

Phase Mechanics (A subset of Fast Effect Timing) (https://ygorganization.com/how-to-handle-the-standby-phase-end-phase-and-end-step-of-the-battle-phase/)

Multiple Negation Effects (https://ygorganization.com/advanced-rulings-negation-effect-interactions/)

The Perfect Rulebook (https://ygorganization.com/perfectrulebook/)

Printable ruling resources are available here (https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Byb5OV0eVTIndWZaMzZDb0tHNU0). There is also an excellent article about what judges should and should not answer here (http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=952193).

Feedback on these resources and suggestions for new ones can be posted in this thread.

Dread Kaiser
26th June 2016, 02:43 PM
Ok so that Deneb thing was different between OCG and TCG after all, my bad mofiz

Pendulum
26th June 2016, 05:26 PM
Awesome!
I have one suggestion: at The Damage Step (https://ygorganization.com/learnrulingspart9/), there's one paragraph saying:

If either battling monster has been destroyed at some point in the Damage Step before now (e.g. because of El Shaddoll Construct), then the Damage Step would end before getting to this point. A replay would not occur though – recall that those can only occur during the Battle Step.
I suggest changing it to:

If either battling monster has left the field at some point in the Damage Step before now (e.g. because of El Shaddoll Construct), then the Damage Step would end before getting to this point. A replay would not occur though – recall that those can only occur during the Battle Step.
Because it also happens if the monster was not destroyed but still left the field. It's a detail, but it's more generic.

Mofiz
28th June 2016, 07:49 PM
Ok so that Deneb thing was different between OCG and TCG after all, my bad mofiz

Atleast that's clearified now

Dread Kaiser
29th June 2016, 05:05 AM
Atleast that's clearified now

And I don't need to dig though Literally over 9000 Comments to find ruling links now

bilaterus
3rd July 2016, 08:22 AM
Awesome!
I have one suggestion: at The Damage Step (https://ygorganization.com/learnrulingspart9/), there's one paragraph saying:

I suggest changing it to:

Because it also happens if the monster was not destroyed but still left the field. It's a detail, but it's more generic.
Done.

Oh, also, I posted a new article, and added another section to https://ygorganization.com/learnrulingspart12 under Verification.

Pendulum
3rd July 2016, 11:59 AM
Done.

Ah, thank you! Another suggestion: could you add a link to the perfect rulebook (https://ygorganization.com/perfectrulebook/) at the intro, please? Just to have everything into on place.


Oh, also, I posted a new article, and added another section to https://ygorganization.com/learnrulingspart12 under Verification.

The new article is nice. Covers stuff people usually ask for, like the Highlander clause and the Forgetting. The Normal Summon part reminds me the wikia page on Normal Summons could use a revamp, since multiple Normal Summons are starting to be a common thing nowadays.

That new section about verification is precious. I actually asked for something similar to it on the wikia a couple of days ago. Is this serendipity or...? Anyway, my question (which was answered at the wikia) would be how I could be sure player A had the correct card to be able to activate the effect, what would be the official means to make sure of it.

Lastly, if you don't have any ideas for a next article, I'd suggest doing something about the End Phase. For instance, what happens if I discard "Ruffian Railcar (http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Ruffian_Railcar)" for the hand size limit? In this case, do I still have the chance to get a search?

Mofiz
3rd July 2016, 12:31 PM
First off: Great article
I have some questions regarding it.

1) If a monster gets flipped face-down, does it forget if it was previously Tribute Summoned?
Let's say, my opponent controls a tribute Summoned Monarch and the Dominion. If I flip it face-down with Book of Moon, am I able to Summon from my Extra Deck afterwards? ALSO, in that same Scenario, are the Level 8 Monarchs able to use that Monster as a single Tribute Material because of her "You can Tribute Summon this card by Tributing a Tribute Summoned Tribute Monster"

2) You stated "For example, a “Yosenju” monster set by Book of Eclipse will return to the hand in the End Phase if Normal Summoned that turn."
Does this imply that the yosenju is flipped-face up again? Because the effect should be activating during the Endphase, which can't happen if it's still face-down at that point.

Pendulum
3rd July 2016, 02:31 PM
1) If a monster gets flipped face-down, does it forget if it was previously Tribute Summoned?
Let's say, my opponent controls a tribute Summoned Monarch and the Dominion. If I flip it face-down with Book of Moon, am I able to Summon from my Extra Deck afterwards? ALSO, in that same Scenario, are the Level 8 Monarchs able to use that Monster as a single Tribute Material because of her "You can Tribute Summon this card by Tributing a Tribute Summoned Tribute Monster"

I guess it doesn't forget, because you can Tribute Set monsters, and they can still be used as the one Tribute for the big Monarchs (you can't Fusion/Ritual/Synchro/Xyz Summon in face-down position). Also, bilaterus has it like "If it was flipped face-down, it WILL forget where it was Special Summoned from", which makes me think it only applies to Special Summon.


2) You stated "For example, a “Yosenju” monster set by Book of Eclipse will return to the hand in the End Phase if Normal Summoned that turn."
Does this imply that the yosenju is flipped-face up again? Because the effect should be activating during the Endphase, which can't happen if it's still face-down at that point.

If it's face-down, since it's a Trigger effect, it won't trigger (that would be my guess).

Dread Kaiser
3rd July 2016, 07:20 PM
First off: Great article
I have some questions regarding it.

1) If a monster gets flipped face-down, does it forget if it was previously Tribute Summoned?
Let's say, my opponent controls a tribute Summoned Monarch and the Dominion. If I flip it face-down with Book of Moon, am I able to Summon from my Extra Deck afterwards? ALSO, in that same Scenario, are the Level 8 Monarchs able to use that Monster as a single Tribute Material because of her "You can Tribute Summon this card by Tributing a Tribute Summoned Tribute Monster"

2) You stated "For example, a “Yosenju” monster set by Book of Eclipse will return to the hand in the End Phase if Normal Summoned that turn."
Does this imply that the yosenju is flipped-face up again? Because the effect should be activating during the Endphase, which can't happen if it's still face-down at that point.

It doesn't forget, a special summoned monster that was booked is still a valid C101 target, for exmple

In the yosenju case,it needs to be faceup to bounce, but will remember that it was normal summoned

Mofiz
3rd July 2016, 07:50 PM
It doesn't forget, a special summoned monster that was booked is still a valid C101 target, for exmple

In the yosenju case,it needs to be faceup to bounce, but will remember that it was normal summoned

So Shirayuki on a Monarch won't get rid of the Dominion... Wonderful. Atleast not before the MP2

bilaterus
5th July 2016, 01:32 PM
Ah, thank you! Another suggestion: could you add a link to the perfect rulebook (https://ygorganization.com/perfectrulebook/) at the intro, please? Just to have everything into on place.



The new article is nice. Covers stuff people usually ask for, like the Highlander clause and the Forgetting. The Normal Summon part reminds me the wikia page on Normal Summons could use a revamp, since multiple Normal Summons are starting to be a common thing nowadays.

That new section about verification is precious. I actually asked for something similar to it on the wikia a couple of days ago. Is this serendipity or...? Anyway, my question (which was answered at the wikia) would be how I could be sure player A had the correct card to be able to activate the effect, what would be the official means to make sure of it.

Lastly, if you don't have any ideas for a next article, I'd suggest doing something about the End Phase. For instance, what happens if I discard "Ruffian Railcar (http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Ruffian_Railcar)" for the hand size limit? In this case, do I still have the chance to get a search?

Perfect Rulebook is added. Actually there are a lot of ruling articles which I haven't put up yet (e.g. Earl's article on the End Phase). I have since added a couple of things.

Pendulum
5th July 2016, 03:51 PM
Thank you very much! It is really convenient to have all the stuff gathered in one place.