ARKhaven
6th August 2017, 12:44 AM
Hey, it's been a while. I have a question in regards to Ash Blossom.
Ash Blossom states:
During either player's turn, when a card or effect is activated that includes any of these effects: You can discard this card; negate that effect.
● Add a card from the Deck to the hand.
● Special Summon from the Deck.
● Send a card from the Deck to the Graveyard.
You can only use this effect of "Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring" once per turn.
Let's say I activate any Nekroz Spell card to ritual summon. The wording on Ash Blossom that bothers me is, "when a card or effect is activated that includes any of these effects." Would my spell get screwed because it has this effect;
" If you control no monsters: You can banish this card and 1 "Nekroz" monster from your Graveyard; add 1 "Nekroz" Spell Card from your Deck to your hand."
The closest rulings to this would be this one the YGOrg put up:
Q: When my opponent activates the effect of Zoodiac Drident that it gained by having Zoodiac Ratpier attached as an Xyz Material, can I chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring from my hand?
A: When your opponent activates the effect of an Xyz Monster gained from Zoodiac Ratpier, you can chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring. In this scenario, although that effect is negated, Zoodiac Drident remains face-up in the Monster Zone, and its other effects are not negated.
Edit: In case someone didn't read the entire thing, the reason for this question is to figure out wording/rulings. Nekroz Mirror, for example, has the Ritual Summon effect and Search as separate clauses, so if you take Ash Blossom's effect at face value, it shouldn't be able to negate the Ritual Summon because that effect doesn't include a search. But again, wording.
Ash Blossom states:
During either player's turn, when a card or effect is activated that includes any of these effects: You can discard this card; negate that effect.
● Add a card from the Deck to the hand.
● Special Summon from the Deck.
● Send a card from the Deck to the Graveyard.
You can only use this effect of "Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring" once per turn.
Let's say I activate any Nekroz Spell card to ritual summon. The wording on Ash Blossom that bothers me is, "when a card or effect is activated that includes any of these effects." Would my spell get screwed because it has this effect;
" If you control no monsters: You can banish this card and 1 "Nekroz" monster from your Graveyard; add 1 "Nekroz" Spell Card from your Deck to your hand."
The closest rulings to this would be this one the YGOrg put up:
Q: When my opponent activates the effect of Zoodiac Drident that it gained by having Zoodiac Ratpier attached as an Xyz Material, can I chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring from my hand?
A: When your opponent activates the effect of an Xyz Monster gained from Zoodiac Ratpier, you can chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring. In this scenario, although that effect is negated, Zoodiac Drident remains face-up in the Monster Zone, and its other effects are not negated.
Edit: In case someone didn't read the entire thing, the reason for this question is to figure out wording/rulings. Nekroz Mirror, for example, has the Ritual Summon effect and Search as separate clauses, so if you take Ash Blossom's effect at face value, it shouldn't be able to negate the Ritual Summon because that effect doesn't include a search. But again, wording.