PDA

View Full Version : Uniflora and Obedience Schooled



SynjoDeonecros
12th October 2015, 06:35 PM
Okay, I know monsters summoned by Obedience Schooled have their effects negated, but I'm assuming they can still activate their effects. If I summon a Uniflora with it, and then tribute it to activate its effect, will its effect be negated by Schooled, or not? It doesn't say that it's negated "on the field", unlike Skill Drain, so I'm not sure if it will be or not.

Teddy
12th October 2015, 08:24 PM
You can activate the effect and tribute Uniflora, but it activates and resolves on the field, so it will be negated and you won't special summon anything.

EDIT: For further reference, see any rulings related to Breakthrough Skill and effects that tribute the monster negated, it works the same way.

SynjoDeonecros
12th October 2015, 10:23 PM
I can't find any of those rulings on the wiki.

Teddy
12th October 2015, 11:24 PM
Indeed, it isn't there. I can assure you that Obedience negates the effect much like Breakthrough does, but Konami hasn't issued a official ruling on that matter. If you want more clarity on the matter I suggest you ask a Judge in your locals or online. (Also, the situation you describe is equal to the Breakthrough Skill vs Lonefire Blossom situation, which has been repeatedly discussed and answered online and I suggest you look it up to clear ant doubts)

Dread Kaiser
12th October 2015, 11:54 PM
Honestly a better comparison would be cards like Debris Dragon then Breakthrough. the more similar the function the better.

Same result though.

if a card summons a card and negates its effects, All effects it has that activates (and thus resolves) on the field will be negated, even if it tributes itself.
Skill drain is actually the exception to the rule as it actually requires the negated card to stay on the field at resolution to stay negated.

now if it had a on-death effect that goes off in the grave, THAT works

And the wikia only host rulings that came from Konami (or upper deck when they were a thing). if you need a ruling, ask here or on the Wikia forums (I'll probably be the one to answer either way)

SynjoDeonecros
13th October 2015, 12:09 AM
Strange, I can't seem to find THAT ruling on the wiki, either. Where would I find it?

Dread Kaiser
13th October 2015, 12:22 AM
Debris Dragons Ruling page

http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings%3ADebris_Dragon




When a monster like "Exiled Force (http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Exiled_Force)" is Special Summoned by "Debris Dragon (http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Debris_Dragon)"/"Black Salvo (http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Black_Salvo)"/etc, if you activate the effect of "Exiled Force (http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Exiled_Force)", then the effect will still be negated since it activated on the field, even though "Exiled Force (http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Exiled_Force)" is no longer on the field.[4] (http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings%3ADebris_Dragon#cite_note-3)



When "Debris Dragon (http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Debris_Dragon)"/"Black Salvo (http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Black_Salvo)"/"Doomkaiser Dragon/Assault Mode (http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Doomkaiser_Dragon/Assault_Mode)"/etc Special Summon a monster with an effect that activates in the Graveyard like "Sangan (http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Sangan)"/"Giant Rat (http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Giant_Rat)"/"Mystic Tomato (http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Mystic_Tomato)"/etc, then that effect is not negated. This is because "Debris Dragon (http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Debris_Dragon) etc only negate effects which activate or are applied on the field.[5] (http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings%3ADebris_Dragon#cite_note-4)



there ya go, its under OCG rulings which, unless otherwise stated are Valid in the TCG
That Otherwise would be noted by a big box at the top of the page like with The Wicked Avatar for example

SynjoDeonecros
13th October 2015, 12:33 AM
Okay. I thought your last attempt to answer this when I brought it up on the deck's thread proper was a bit hinky. Ah, well, at least I can bring it back with Valerifawn, and looking at the wording of that card's effect I know I can activate the The Fabled's discard effects with it, so that is good. I just can't whip out a Uniflora and instantly get a Sphinx out, that way, which is a shame.

Momma_Sophie
3rd December 2015, 04:47 PM
The effect will be negated because it activates and resolves on the field.

This situation is similar to a Stardust Dragon summoning by Queen Dragun Djinn, in that if Stardust is summoned by Djinn, its effect to Tribute itself and negate an effect will not do so. Stardust will Tribute itself, and nothing else will happen.