PDA

View Full Version : Ring Of Destruction Ruling



Pendulum
14th October 2015, 08:26 PM
I have a question regarding RoD's current errata:

Player A activates RoD targeting, let's say, Alexandrite Dragon.
Player B passes.
Could player A activate Barrel Behind the Door?

My opinion:

Yes.
RoD won't inflict damage to player A because of BBtD. Therefore, player B won't take damage due to RoD' effect, but will take damage due to BBtD.
In this particular example: Player A inflicts 2000 damage (due to BBtD); then doesn't take damage; then player B doesn't take damage; Conclusion: player B takes 2000 damage.

Am I correct or wrong?

Or, since RoD needs to destroy the monster first, BBtD can't be activted?

Thanks in advance.

clairedestroyer!
14th October 2015, 09:00 PM
Barrel Behind the Door can be used, and the situation you outline is correct.

Pendulum
14th October 2015, 09:10 PM
Thank you!
Some time ago I had a discussion with MasterMarik from the wiki about this. He insisted I wasn't right and, with the new errata, I couldn't activate Barrel Behind the Door.
Thanks again.

Dread Kaiser
12th November 2015, 02:25 PM
Yeah, sounds right to me

Sanokal
12th November 2015, 05:33 PM
Thank you!
Some time ago I had a discussion with MasterMarik from the wiki about this. He insisted I wasn't right and, with the new errata, I couldn't activate Barrel Behind the Door.
Thanks again.

While not to point fingers, I suggest that you take. MasterMarik's words with a grain of salt these days.

Dread Kaiser
12th November 2015, 05:45 PM
yeah MasterMarik has been wrong often enough that I wouldn't take his rulings without someone backing him up on it

Out of Curiosity, what reasons did he give for saying it wouldn't work? your argument on the wikia was Deleted by Golden key so I can't see it anymore

Pendulum
12th November 2015, 10:40 PM
While not to point fingers, I suggest that you take. MasterMarik's words with a grain of salt these days.


yeah MasterMarik has been wrong often enough that I wouldn't take his rulings without someone backing him up on it

Thank you for the support guys.


Out of Curiosity, what reasons did he give for saying it wouldn't work? your argument on the wikia was Deleted by Golden key so I can't see it anymore

Oh, ok, ok.
But I still have acces to it:

Tips: Ring Of Destruction
If you chain barrel behind the door to your ring of destruction, you'll not take damage and will inflict damage to your opponent due to barrel behind the door, but will not inflict damage due to ring of destruction. Becasita (talk contribs) 12:08, May 25, 2015 (UTC)

Not with the new errata, whcih says that if you don't take the damage, you don't inflict the damage to your opponent.--MasterMarik (talk contribs) 12:18, May 25, 2015 (UTC)

I understand. If you don't take the damage from ring of destruction, you don't inflict damage from ring of destruction. If you don't take the damage beacause of barrel behind the door, you will not inflict damage with ring of destruction. But you will inflict damage with barrel behind the door. Where am I getting it wrong? Becasita (talk contribs) 12:39, May 25, 2015 (UTC)

You are lfocused on the old errata of RoD, which did allow for that combo but the nrw errata as well as new rulings with that errata have since made that combo impossible.--MasterMarik (talk contribs) 12:52, May 25, 2015 (UTC)

Actually, I am not. But ok, I won't insist.Becasita (talk contribs) 13:08, May 25, 2015 (UTC)

Note: Becasita = Me.

Dread Kaiser
12th November 2015, 11:40 PM
Yeah Marik completely missed the point
and he lied, no such rulings were officially made.

it works the same as the old version, all damage you take is directed to opponent. Your opponents share of the damage is equal to yours, but you took none so THAT doesn't happen, but Barrel still redirects YOUR share of the damage

geez marik, its not that complicated...

Pendulum
13th November 2015, 12:06 AM
geez marik, its not that complicated...

I feel like I should redirect him to this thread, but I don't want to get in trouble. But he would deserve it. He made me feel like a fool.

Sanokal
13th November 2015, 01:13 AM
I feel like I should redirect him to this thread, but I don't want to get in trouble. But he would deserve it. He made me feel like a fool.

Nah, not a good idea. To be honest, I probably shouldn't have said what I did in the first place.

Pendulum
13th November 2015, 09:24 AM
Nah, not a good idea. To be honest, I probably shouldn't have said what I did in the first place.

Don't worry. I won't point this, then.

Redshift
14th November 2015, 04:28 PM
Barrel Behind the Door can be chained to your own Ring of Destruction. The original ATK is inflicted as damage to your opponent instead of you, but the last part of the effect is not applied. (Your opponent takes a total of 2000 damage in this scenario.)

Pendulum
14th November 2015, 04:29 PM
Thank you.