User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Uniflora and Obedience Schooled

  1. #1
    Registered User SynjoDeonecros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    2,142
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unanswered: Uniflora and Obedience Schooled

    Okay, I know monsters summoned by Obedience Schooled have their effects negated, but I'm assuming they can still activate their effects. If I summon a Uniflora with it, and then tribute it to activate its effect, will its effect be negated by Schooled, or not? It doesn't say that it's negated "on the field", unlike Skill Drain, so I'm not sure if it will be or not.

  2. #2
    Registered User Teddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can activate the effect and tribute Uniflora, but it activates and resolves on the field, so it will be negated and you won't special summon anything.

    EDIT: For further reference, see any rulings related to Breakthrough Skill and effects that tribute the monster negated, it works the same way.
    Last edited by Teddy; 12th October 2015 at 08:29 PM.

    Current Decks: Galaxy, Utopia, Igknight, U.A.
    Future Decks: Buster Blader & Magicians.

  3. #3
    Registered User SynjoDeonecros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    2,142
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can't find any of those rulings on the wiki.

  4. #4
    Registered User Teddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Indeed, it isn't there. I can assure you that Obedience negates the effect much like Breakthrough does, but Konami hasn't issued a official ruling on that matter. If you want more clarity on the matter I suggest you ask a Judge in your locals or online. (Also, the situation you describe is equal to the Breakthrough Skill vs Lonefire Blossom situation, which has been repeatedly discussed and answered online and I suggest you look it up to clear ant doubts)

    Current Decks: Galaxy, Utopia, Igknight, U.A.
    Future Decks: Buster Blader & Magicians.

  5. #5
    Registered User Dread Kaiser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Terminia
    Posts
    3,614
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Honestly a better comparison would be cards like Debris Dragon then Breakthrough. the more similar the function the better.

    Same result though.

    if a card summons a card and negates its effects, All effects it has that activates (and thus resolves) on the field will be negated, even if it tributes itself.
    Skill drain is actually the exception to the rule as it actually requires the negated card to stay on the field at resolution to stay negated.

    now if it had a on-death effect that goes off in the grave, THAT works

    And the wikia only host rulings that came from Konami (or upper deck when they were a thing). if you need a ruling, ask here or on the Wikia forums (I'll probably be the one to answer either way)
    I don't have a Problem, I have a Hobby.

  6. #6
    Registered User SynjoDeonecros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    2,142
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Strange, I can't seem to find THAT ruling on the wiki, either. Where would I find it?

  7. #7
    Registered User Dread Kaiser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Terminia
    Posts
    3,614
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Debris Dragons Ruling page

    http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Ru...ADebris_Dragon



    there ya go, its under OCG rulings which, unless otherwise stated are Valid in the TCG
    That Otherwise would be noted by a big box at the top of the page like with The Wicked Avatar for example
    I don't have a Problem, I have a Hobby.

  8. #8
    Registered User SynjoDeonecros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    2,142
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay. I thought your last attempt to answer this when I brought it up on the deck's thread proper was a bit hinky. Ah, well, at least I can bring it back with Valerifawn, and looking at the wording of that card's effect I know I can activate the The Fabled's discard effects with it, so that is good. I just can't whip out a Uniflora and instantly get a Sphinx out, that way, which is a shame.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Some crap city called "Greenwood."
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The effect will be negated because it activates and resolves on the field.

    This situation is similar to a Stardust Dragon summoning by Queen Dragun Djinn, in that if Stardust is summoned by Djinn, its effect to Tribute itself and negate an effect will not do so. Stardust will Tribute itself, and nothing else will happen.
    With burning regards,
    Fiercely yours truly,
    La Sophie De La Soph

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •